Treating Patients who have been in Motor Vehicle Accidents
Often times patients are confused following an auto accident and don’t know who to turn to or how to take the first step. Although the fancy commercials on TV imply that the first step is to call an attorney, putting your health first by calling our office for an immediate evaluation is immanently important. Florida law requires accident victims to see a physician within 14 days of your accident or you will forfeit access your insurance benefits.
Florida Sports & Spinal Rehab physicians are specially trained to diagnose and treat auto related injuries. Having a multi-specialty team available for your care allows us to accurately diagnose your injury, maximize your treatment options, and get you the care you need regardless of the severity of your injuries. Our physicians are trained to treat EMERGENCY MEDICAL CONDITIONS, while our Personal Injury Coordinators can help you navigate through the insurance claims process. We have everything you need in-house to effectively and efficiently handle your injury care and your case management from a medical standpoint.
Questions most commonly asked by our patients include:
IF I AM NOT IN SERIOUS PAIN SHOULD I STILL SEE A DOCTOR?
The most common injury suffered following an auto accident is an injury to the neck caused by WHIPLASH. Sprains and strains to the back or neck are referred to as soft tissue injuries and often times these injuries will not present at the time of the accident. Often times it takes hours, days, or sometimes weeks for injuries to present themselves following an accident. These injuries, if not diagnosed and treated properly, can lead to a life of chronic pain and suffering. It is important to document any injury even if it is not severe to ensure you establish a case if future symptoms from the auto accident present themselves.
I DON’T HAVE HEALTH INSURANCE, WHO’S GOING TO PAY?
Florida is a “No-Fault” state and everyone that carries auto insurance has Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits that will cover their care. These are benefits that your own policy pays just like health insurance does so it’s important that you have access to the insurance benefits that you are paying for. PIP benefits cover up to $10,000 in medical care. That is no small amount of coverage! Those who have Health Insurance or Med-Pay have additional benefits that may pay above & beyond the $10,000 PIP cap allowing for additional care. PIP benefits cannot only be used for the rehabilitation of your injuries, they can also be used for lost wages, pain and suffering. Our Personal Injury Coordinators are specialty trained in working with PIP claims and will walk you through the entire process to get your claim started.
HOW SOON SHOULD I SEE A PHYSICIAN AFTER MY ACCIDENT?
You only have 14 days following your accident to seek treatment for your Auto Related Injuries or your PIP benefits will be forfeited. Regardless of the severity of your injuries, you should call us immediately (321-757-6899) to schedule an appointment for an evaluation. We have offices throughout the county as well as affiliated offices that can see you 7 days a week if necessary.
MY REGULAR PHYSICIAN DOESN’T TREAT AUTO ACCIDENT INJURIES, WHAT DO I DO?
We are happy to take care of all your auto accident needs and don’t even need a referral to get things started. Simply call our office (321-757-6899) and we can get you scheduled for an initial consultation within 24 hours. Remember you only have 14 days from the date of the accident to seek care or you will forfeit your PIP benefits.
WITHOUT CARE YOU HAVE NO CASE!!!
It’s important to get into our offices for an immediate evaluation, call today!!